Tips on setting up Ipython on windows

Just a quick update, I’ve recently hit a bump while trying to start this online course on quantitative economics and they have a good guide on getting started. I read that other people have issues setting up Anaconda(a package with Ipython) too. Anyways here’s quick guide on what I did to overcome my bumps on setting it up with powershell. I’ve found the issue that Anaconda configures windows paths to a folder named Python27 which for me was in C.

I would recommend making sure your execution policy is set right, this guide here on how to do that.

Then type in this command into powershell:

$a = $env:path; $a.Split(";")

When this is done you will get a list of paths from where powershell reads. You then have to make sure that one of those is anaconda, and in my case I had to rename it to python 27 because that’s where it reading from. You could also just change it in the system setting(there’s a link on that in the quantitative economics link above).

Also if you are completely new to using CMD type things, its probably useful to go thru some basic commands.

Feel free to leave a comment, I wil respond as best as I can!

